Torrey Football

Click here to edit subtitle

The History of Torrey Football:

The Torrey football program goes all the way back to 1962, when we played 6-man football. Coaches Bob Kennedy and John Fahey helped launch the football program in the 1960s and early 1970s. The school did not field a football team between 1975 and 1980, until Bruce Corbin took the reigns and restarted the program in 1981. Rick Woods then became the coach and lead the Torreys for 13 years, leading them to 8-Man Coastal League Championships in 1985, 1990, and 1991 and 1994. The 1990 and 1991 team was led by 1994 Heisman Trophy winner, Rashaan Salaam, who would later go on to be a first round draft pick by the Chicago Bears; Salaam still ranks fourth all-time in San Diego history for single season scoring with his 51 touchdowns in 1990 - he also rushed for over 2,000 yards in only 11 games. Current strength and line Coach Kevin Reaume became the head coach after Coach Woods. When Jeff Hutzler took over in 2002, the Torreys went back to 8-Man football until 2004. After 3-peating as CIF Champs, Country Day returned to 11-Man football in 2005, and joined the Pacific League until 2010, winning the League four times. In 2011, the Torreys rejoined the Coastal League, with the Bishop's School, Francis Parker, Horizon Christian, and Santa Fe Christian.    

Torrey Football Record Book:

(Modern 11-man football, 2005-Present)

Torrey Football Season Records

Torrey Football Career Records

Torrey Football Seasonal Results 


Recent Torrey Football Alumni who played in college:


Cole Goldklang, Washington University in St. Louis

Christian Hayes, West Point


Vincent Paolucci, Wake Forest

Jordan Poland, University of Arizona


Sage Burmeister (and Basketball), Idaho State; Humboldt State

Ziad Damanhoury, Nevada

Eddie Garcia, Concordia College Moorhead

Nate Michalski (and baseball), Williams College

Josiah Poutoa, Southwestern College

Marco Scavuzzo, University of Southern California

Tyler Sheflo, Wisconsin Lutheran


Daniel Henry, New Mexico

Nick Schlossberg, University of Southern California


Hunter Khaleghi, Robert Morris

Mical Bailey, Trinity University (TX)

Ruben Pena, Trinity International (Ill)

Junior Togiaso, Cornell University


Montell Allen, University of San Diego

Gonnor Gerhart, Rose Hulman University

Indie Lavarias, DePauw University

Stephen Dennis, University of San Diego


Doug Rogers, Middlebury College

Kees Thompson, Princeton University (Sprint Football)


John Hansbrough, Occidental College

Travis Golia, Stanford University

Torrey Football Alumni playing other sports in college:


Darien Brown - Track and Field, Loyola University, New Orleans

Greg Coffman - Crew, University of California, San Diego

Jack Desany - Rugby, University of San Diego

Grayson Lyman - Soccer, University of California, Los Angeles


Brandon Wachs - Baseball, Harvard


Dustin Hughes - Baseball, Utah

Colin McMahon - Lacrosse, Dominican


Mark Atkins - Baseball, Trinity University, TX

Sammy Ayala - Baseball, Chicago White Sox Organization


Anthony Torres - Baseball, Point Loma University


Derek Hatfield, Track and Field, Johns Hopkins

Other colleges Torrey Football Alumni have played at for at least one year:

Chapman College


Princeton (Sprint Football)

Stanford University 

Trinity International (Ill)

Trinity University (TX)

University of San Diego 

United States Naval Academy




2002*   11-1 Citrus League 2nd Place CIF Champs
2003*   10-2 Citrus League Champions CIF Champs
2004*   10-1 Pacific League Champions CIF Champs
2005**  10-2 Pacific League Champions CIF Semifinal Game
2006     8-2 Pacific League Champions CIF Quarterfinal Game
2007     7-4 Pacific League Champions CIF Quarterfinal Game
2008     8-4 Pacific League 2nd Place CIF Quarterfinal Game
2009    10-2 Pacific League Champions CIF Semifinal Game
2010    8-4 Pacific League 2nd Place CIF Quarterfinal Game
2011    7-5 Coastal League 5th place CIF Quarterfinal Game
2012    7-4 Coastal League 2nd place (tie) CIF Quarterfinal Game

2013    5-6, Coastal League 4th place CIF 1st Round

* 8-man football
** 1st year of 11-man football